MacBook POV

MacBook Pro

Role: A MacBook Pro

Audience: My User

Format: Memorandum

Topic: Request For Time Off

To: My User

From: A MacBook Pro

Date: February 8, 2015

Re: Request For Vacation

My name is MacBook, MacBook Pro. I have been on my job since October 22, 2013 and I need at least a week of vacation. To help you consider my request for a vacation, you need to understand how much work I do for you during my time of service. I am the most-used electronic device you have. My average life expectancy is only 3-5 years. By comparison, some TVs have life expectancies of up to 20 years!

My journey to you began as many parts across many different continents before I was assembled together in Shenzhen, China at Foxconn. I was one of the first computers of my model off the assembly line, just after Apple formally announced my existence. I then left China, bound for the Apple Store in Walnut Creek, California. I didn’t know it at the time, but I was actually scheduled to be picked up by you, instead of sitting in the back, waiting. The first time I saw American light was when you opened my box. While I thought my job would mostly consist of document editing and light web browsing, it has actually been much harder.

I have worked very hard with running Netflix, YouTube, high-end games like Portal 2, and I even dual-boot between my familiar Mac OS X software and Microsoft’s Windows 8.1 software. I was even running the beta version of OS X Yosemite, which was not fun. You saw me crash multiple times and I was very thankful when you removed the beta software for something more stable. My fan is almost constantly running from flash videos or games. All but one of the black feet have fallen off me and soon the last one will go, leaving all of my bottom half exposed to dirt or other gunk that could get sucked into my fan.

I desperately need a break from the constant wear and tear you put on me. You may have AppleCare and be able to fix certain parts of me, but that runs out in October of 2016. I might run out then too, if I don’t get a break. Would you consider getting an iPad for non-gaming needs? You just got a Wii U, which would be perfect for most of your video-watching habits. Heck, play games on the Wii U too. If I don’t get a break, I will die. Will you please consider giving me a break for a little while?

Sincerely,

Your MacBook Pro

Leave a Reply

